Venue: Worthenbury Village Hall

Posted on: Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006

otis1

Location: Worthenbury is situated near Wrexham in North Wales on the B5069 between Bangor-on-Dee and Malpas. The village hall is in the centre of the village (post code: LL13 0AW)

Map

Promoters:

Pete Evans (tel: 01948 770215 pete@hookerblues.co.uk)

Paul Taylor (paul@hookerblues.co.uk)

Ian Wiliams (ian@hookerblues.co.uk)

Club Profile: the Worthenbury venue is under the aegis of the promoters of the well-established Hooker Blues Club that meets at Wrexham Rugby Club. The venue is home to the extremely popular Going Up The Country series of acoustic gigs. Artistes who have already appeared at the club include Otis Taylor, Eddie and Frank Thomas, Kent Duchaine and Lisa Mills (all from the USA) and Phil Bates (of ELO Part 2 fame), The Hokum Hotshots, Harry Skinner & Dave Saunders and Michael Messer from the UK. The club provides limited bar facilities, which usually include a barrel of real ale.

Please note that the picture above is atypical of the venue. Normally the seats are arranged less formally, around small intimate tables; the picture above shows a particularly high ticket sales night when Otis Taylor was featured recently . For this event, to satisfy a higher than normal demand for tickets, the seats were arranged in rows.

Gigs in 2009
Saturday, 24th January: Nine Below Zero (at Overton-On-Dee Village Hall)
Friday, 13th February: Rick Payne
Saturday, 7th March: The Groanbox Boys
Friday, 20th March: Mud Morganfield
Saturday, 25th April: Louisiana Red + Michael Messer
Friday, 8th May: Kent DuChaine
Saturday, 30th May: Fruteland Jackson
Friday, 18th September: The Guy Tortora Band
Friday, 23rd October: Little Toby Walker
Friday, 6th November: Woody Mann and Tom Doughty
Saturday, 21st November: The Hokum Hotshots (at Bangor-on-Dee)
Friday, 4th December: Dave Kelly
Friday, 18th December: The Derrin Nauendorf Band

Entry Fee: varies but usually £10

Website: www.hookerblues.co.uk/



1

[…] usual there is a fabulous line up of acts upcoming for Worthenbury in the first part of […]

2

[…] it’s reasonable proximity to the Peace residence, last Friday was my first ever visit to the “Goin’ Up The Country” blues club at Worthenbury Village Hall. Oh boy! Have I been missing […]