Review: The Bridgewater Blues Band – LIVE

Posted on: Friday, Sep 11, 2009



Track listing:

  • 1. Help Me.
  • 2. Before You Accuse Me.
  • 3. Sweet Little Angel.
  • 4. Killing Floor.
  • 5. Tell Me

From Manchester comes this five-track live release from The Bridgewater Blues Band – Seamus Monaghan (vocals), Jon Ingham (guitar), Andy Millington (guitar), Jeremy George (bass) and Gabor Bartos (drums), all the way from Budapest – delivering a sturdy set of blues classics, and I am sure, representative of their full live show, and their influences and musical heroes.

Proceeding kick off with the Sonny Boy Williamson chestnut “Help Me”, with the two guitars trading licks, followed by “Before You Accuse Me” – more fluent guitar work and Omagh-born Seamus Monaghan’s gritty voice to the fore here. The pace is taken down on BB King’s “Sweet Black Angel” . . . given a nice slow blues treatment by the band.

The boys rock out on the two remaining tracks – Howlin’ Wolf’s timeless “Killing Floor” and a dip into Stevie Ray Vaughan territory for the Texas shuffle of “Tell Me”. The recording catches the live atmosphere of the band, who obviously make for a good night out!

The band are all seasoned players who obviously enjoy what they are doing and well worth checking out – from the two fluent guitars, tight rhythm section and Seamus Monaghan’s vocals!


For more info about the band:

  • Comments Off on Review: The Bridgewater Blues Band – LIVE

Comments are closed.