Review: Cry Baby and the Hootchie Cootchie Boys – Salt Glazed Blues EP

Posted on: Sunday, Oct 18, 2009

Cry Baby and the Hootchie Cootchie Boys


“Salt Glazed Blues EP”

Track listing: 1. Don’t Lie To Me Baby; 2. Ain’t Nothin’ But The Blues; 3. Soft Touch; 4. Gimme One More Shot.

Here’s a lively offering from the Stoke-on-Trent ./ Congleton band, Cry Baby And The Hoochie Coochie Boys – namely Grahame Sells (vocals/guitar), Rob Wilkinson (harmonica/vocals), Vince Cutcliffe (guitar), John Davies (keyboards), Trevor Pinson (bass) and Andy Carr (drums) – together they serve up four varied tracks on the “Salt Glazed Blues” EP – with definite shades of British blues favourites Nine Below Zero and Dr. Feelgood.

The tracks were recorded at Tremelo Studios in Stoke-on-Trent, and kick off with the rocking original “Don’t Lie To Me Baby”, powered by some chunky guitar work and Rob Wilkinson’s impressive harmonica playing, with Graham Sells vocal having touches of the late, great Lee Brilleaux in it.

The boys take the pace down on “Ain’t Nothin’ But The Blues” – a nod to the blues greats, with the likes of BB King, Howlin’ Wolf, Muddy Waters and Elmore James getting a name-check – more fine harmonica here, on this Graham Sells song, and nice organ work from John Davies.

The remaining two songs are both covers – the afore-mentioned Nine Below Zero’s “Soft Touch”, a rolling blues rocker with nice band performance, closing with a ‘beefed up’ take on J.B. Lenoir’s “Gimme One More Shot” – delivered at a breakneck speed, and back into the Dr. Feelgood territory – which certainly works for me!

I get the impression the guys have a ball playing and I would imagine are a blast live, as they say themselves, “we have all been around the block a few times but our love of the blues has bonded us together.”


EP available at gigs and

Cry Baby and the Hootchie Cootchie Boys

  • Comments Off on Review: Cry Baby and the Hootchie Cootchie Boys – Salt Glazed Blues EP

Comments are closed.