Review: The Mustangs – Speed Of Love

Posted on: Wednesday, Jun 26, 2013

The Mustangs CD Cover

The Mustangs – Speed Of Love
Trapeze Music & Entertainment TRACD6510

Speed Of Love, the London-based quartet’s seventh album, contains twelve original compositions. The band comprises Adam Norsworthy on vocals, guitar and keyboards, Derek Kingaby on harmonica, Ben McKeown on bass guitar and Jon Bartley on drums.

The album opens with “Retail Shuffle” with more than a hint of Roadhouse Blues in contrast to the jerky-rhythmed “Payback” driven by Derek Kingaby’s spiky harp work. The gritty, faster-paced “When God Met The Devil” is graced by a nifty guitar solo from Adam Nosworthy while the excellent, medium-paced rocker “Sea Change” offers shades of Roxy Music.

To continue the analogies, “Looking For A Reason” conjures up visions of The Byrds and, following the gentle ballad, “Yours Sincerely” (also released as a single), the medium-paced “Too Late For changing” evokes images of Jethro Tull.

The title song is an insistent rocker, on which all four band members contribute very significantly to its effectiveness. “Cold Walk Home” suggests a glimpse of Manfred Mann before “The Man And The Needle” holds sway with its driving undercurrent overlaid with a compelling guitar riff. The album is concluded with a couple of ballads, the medium-paced, angst-ridden “I Tried To Love You Too Much” and the slower, more philosophical “Move On”.

Unlike the throat-grabbing intensity of so many current blues-rock bands, this album leans towards the more sensitive side of that genre with more than a trace of late 60s/early 70s influences. Furthermore, its well-crafted, melodic compositions are expertly delivered by a band of accomplished musicians.


  • Comments Off on Review: The Mustangs – Speed Of Love

Comments are closed.