Review: TBelly – 4-track EP

Posted on: Thursday, Nov 28, 2013

TBelly – 4-track EP (self-release)

Here’s an original 4-track EP release from British blues band, TBelly, who comprise Russell Keefe (lead vocals, piano and Hammond), Ross Ian Lardner (lead guitar), Riad Abji (bass guitar), Kevin Magill (drums) and Debs Bonomini (backing vocals), with guest harmonica from Al Richardson.

The band have a host of experience between them, with all songs being penned by Russell Keefe, who apart from being a fine player possesses a ‘growl’ of a bluesy voice, perfectly suited to the material here.

The opening “Mr TBelly Blues” kicks off with some fierce slide guitar from Lardner and some lusty harmonica from guest Al Richardson, together with Keefe’s piano work and afore-mentioned big voice; the following “Where’s The Doctor” is a bluesy rocker with rolling piano work again and some more fiery guitar licks and propelled by the rhythm section of Riad Abji and Kevin Magill, with telling contribution from Debs Bonomini on backing vocals, with Richardson again present.

The lengthy “We Met On A Train” takes the pace down as the band stretch out over six minutes plus – again with the imposing Keefe voice out front, it has a soulful feel to it, with nice performances all-round from the whole band; the closing “I’ll Get You Home” is a slow blues, with the vocals reminiscent of the great Joe Cocker, with more fine guitar work from Ross Ian Lardner, and a nice end to a most promising EP.


  • Comments Off on Review: TBelly – 4-track EP

Comments are closed.