Review: John Weeks Band (self-titled)

Posted on: Friday, Oct 31, 2014

John Weeks Band (self-titled)


This is a fine introductory release from this new band (only formed in Spring this year) based in Denver, Colorado – however, singer, guitarist and bandleader John was born in France and spent much of the 90s playing in Paris, which adds a nice cosmopolitan flavour to this self-produced set.

The interplay between the boss’s guitar and Andras “AC” Csapo’s Hammond organ on the opening ‘All Night’ brought to mind the vintage sound of Steve Cropper and Booker T. before ‘Devil In My House’ introduces shades of Slim Harpo and ‘Baby Scratch My Back’ as John supplies nicely brittle acoustic guitar leads over the cracking rhythm section of bassist Curtis Hawkins and drummer Tim “Chooch” Molinario..

‘Why Don’t We Sleep On It?’ is an instrumental with an up tempo jazzy groove, bringing to mind Little Walter thanks to Andras’ fine harmonica introduction. ‘How Can You Love Me?’ is a slow Chicago blues styled number, nice guitar solo on this one too, and it contrasts neatly with the bright funk flavour of ‘I Want To Get Back Home’.

‘You Never Say What You Mean’ hits a fine 60s dance-floor groove, Hammond again underpinning the leader’s no-nonsense vocals and fine guitar breaks and fills, before ‘Moving On’ closes out proceedings with another nicely grooving, crisp blues effort.

My only complaint about this release is that it’s all over a little too quickly – just 31 minutes. As I said at the beginning, it does make for a fine introduction to this band – but it also leaves me wanting more!


  • Comments Off on Review: John Weeks Band (self-titled)

Comments are closed.