Category: Videos

YouTube: Nine Below Zero – Riding On The L&N

Posted on: Friday, Nov 6, 2015

Stalwarts of the British r&b scene, Nine Below Zero, play Telford’s Warehouse in Chester, next Thursday, 12th November. Here’s a cracking quality video of the evergreen “Riding On The L&N” – first recorded by Lionel Hampton, and the most well know blues version being by John Mayall. Dennis Greaves and Mark Feltham on top form! Brian […]

  • Comments Off on YouTube: Nine Below Zero – Riding On The L&N

YouTube: Triple T – So Long So Long

Posted on: Tuesday, Nov 3, 2015

Triple T – Tim Ielegems, Tim De Graeve, Thomas Toussaint, Dennis de Gier and Nordine Ben-Kabbach @ Crossroads Café in Antwerpen – 1st November. Video by Walter Wouters.

  • Comments Off on YouTube: Triple T – So Long So Long

Edgar is the younger brother of the late Johnny Winter, and wrote and performed with Johnny on many occasions, including the legendary 1972 hit “Rock And Roll Hoochie Koo”. Edgar has most recently performed in the 11th incarnation of Ringo Starr’s All Star Band alongside long-time collaborator Rick Derringer. Edgar has had a prolific career […]

  • Comments Off on News: Edgar Winter to release new album, “Rebel Road”

YouTube: John Campbelljohn – Meet My Maker

Posted on: Wednesday, Oct 14, 2015

Dedicated to the co-writer Stan Carew I’d come up with a guitar riff and chord progression one afternoon. The mood of the music felt dark and serious. I sent a demo to Stan and asked him if he could contribute a lyric. In typical fashion he’d come back to me by supper time with the […]

  • Comments Off on YouTube: John Campbelljohn – Meet My Maker

“How Blue Can You Get” from Jesse Davey’s new album, “Big Blues” . . . featuring Hugh Coltman on vocals. The album features Pete Gage, Ian Siegal, Hugh Coltman, Ash Wilson, Phil Wilson, Mark Barrett, Scott McKeon, Tommy Katona, Sam Bratley, Alex Jefferis and more!

  • Comments Off on YouTube: Jesse Davey – How Blue Can You Get (featuring Hugh Coltman)

Joyful, energized guitar-and-vocal performances frame the dozen original songs that narrate his hard-won, life-or-death struggle waiting for, and ultimately receiving, a life-saving liver transplant. With bristling energy, unflagging virtuosity and lyrics that cut to the core of human hope and willpower, Walter Trout’s new album, ‘Battle Scars’, chronicles his horrific battle with liver failure. But […]

  • Comments Off on News: Walter Trouts returns with new album, “Battle Scars”, and UK tour

Blind Pig Records has released a video of the Zac Harmon Band performing “Long Live The Blues,” a track from their new Blind Pig album entitled Right Man Right Now that could become the anthem of the genre. Zac is one of the blues’ strongest live performers, thrilling fans everywhere from Memphis to Mumbai.  Jazz […]

  • Comments Off on YouTube: New video from Zac Harmon – “Long Live The Blues”

YouTube: Sonny Landreth – Bound By The Blues

Posted on: Tuesday, Sep 15, 2015

SONNY LANDRETH NEW SINGLE ‘BOUND BY THE BLUES’ RELEASED 9TH OCTOBER ON PROVOGUE/MASCOT LABEL GROUP Sonny Landreth – Bound by the Blues lyric video taken from the album “Bound By The Blues” out on Provogue / Mascot Label Group More info:

  • Comments Off on YouTube: Sonny Landreth – Bound By The Blues

Lyric video for Joe Louis Walker’s “One Sunny Day”. New album, “Everybody Wants A Piece”, is released by Provogue/Mascot Label Group on 9th October. Pre-order here:

  • Comments Off on YouTube: Joe Louis Walker – One Sunny Day (lyric video)

Blind Pig Records has released a new video from Victor Wainwright entitled “The Devil’s Bite.”  The song is a “cautionary tale” with macabre and mysterious implications about the dangers that lie in wait for the unwary. “Wainwright relates a frightening warning to beware of forces that can do you harm, utilizing a vocal style straight […]

  • Comments Off on YouTube: Victor Wainwright and the WildRoots – The Devil’s Bite

YouTube: James Leg – Dirty South

Posted on: Wednesday, Sep 9, 2015

James Leg – “Dirty South”. From the album “Below The Belt” on

  • Comments Off on YouTube: James Leg – Dirty South

YouTube: Chris Bergson Band – Heavenly Grass

Posted on: Thursday, Sep 3, 2015

We’ve long been fans of NYC-based Chris Bergson here at Blues In The North West. Here’s an excellent video of “Heavenly Grass”, shot by Walter Wouters at (Ge)Varenwinkel in Herselt, Belgium, on 29th August.

  • Comments Off on YouTube: Chris Bergson Band – Heavenly Grass

Paul Lamb & The King Snakes perform a track from their album ‘Hole in the Wall’ available from Photography by Royle Photography – video editing by Paula Riordan for FruffyK productions

  • Comments Off on YouTube: Paul Lamb & The King Snakes – Jumping Little Judy

It would be amiss of us not to mark the 25th anniversary of the passing of the legendary Stevie Ray Vaughan. Here’s Stevie in acoustic mode . . . a lovely song and far removed from the high-energy electric playing . . . and of course, co-written by the equally sadly missed Doyle Bramhall.

  • Comments Off on News: Stevie Ray Vaughan: 3rd October, 1954 – 27th August, 1990

YouTube: Guy Forsyth – Don’t Stand Still

Posted on: Monday, Aug 24, 2015

The excellent Guy Forsyth, from Austin, Texas, captured live at The Crossroads Cafe in Antwerp. Video by Walter Wouters.

  • Comments Off on YouTube: Guy Forsyth – Don’t Stand Still Provogue Records / Mascot Label Group and Joe Louis Walker have announced an October 9 release date for Everybody Wants A Piece.  A Blues Hall of Fame inductee and four-time Blues Music Award winner, Walker celebrates a career that exceeds a half a century. His new album cements his legacy as a prolific torchbearer for […]

  • Comments Off on News: Joe Louis Walker to release “Everybody Wants A Piece” – 9th October